

TO: Clergy and Administrators of the Diocese of Dallas

Please copy and distribute to convention delegates/alternates. Also, please make this information

available to your Vestry or Bishop's Committee and other interested parishioners.

FROM: Mr. Bob Buchanan, Secretary of Convention

DATE: May 20, 2022

SUBJECT: 127<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Episcopal Diocese of Dallas

RE: 2022 Nominations

The 127<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting will be held at Episcopal School of Dallas (ESD), 4100 Merrell Road, Dallas, 75229, on Saturday, November 5, 2022.

The Nominating Committee, chaired by the Rev. Terry Reisner, will receive nominations for the following open positions:

Secretary of Convention 1 Clergy **or** 1 Lay
Standing Committee Members 1 Clergy and 1 Lay
Executive Council Members 2 Clergy and 4 Lay

University of the South Trustee 1 Lay

Deputies & Alternates to Provincial Synod and General Convention 4 Clergy and 4 Lay

It is important that the Nominating Committee receives suggestions and nominations representing the full breadth of our diocese; please prayerfully consider those you know who might be of good service to the Diocese in one of these areas.

You can easily nominate an individual online:

<u>https://form.jotform.com/edod/nomination-part-one</u> for the nominator https://form.jotform.com/edod/nomination-part-two for the nominee

If you have questions or prefer a paper nomination form rather form than using the online access, please contact Amy Maceo at <a href="mailto:amaceo@edod.org">amaceo@edod.org</a> (or cell: 469-951-7048).

The deadline for consideration of your nomination is 4:00 pm on Friday, August 5, 2022.

Nominations received after the deadline date, noted above, will not be printed in the convention booklet, and it will be the responsibility of the nominator to provide copies of the completed nomination bio to all delegates of the Convention.

#### Secretary of the Diocesan Convention (see Canon 7)

The Secretary for the Convention serves a one-year term and is responsible for the official record of the proceedings of the Diocesan Convention and other duties as stated in the Constitution and Canons of the Diocese of Dallas.

# The Standing Committee (see Article 10 and Canon 6)

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Dallas consists of three priests (entitled to seats in the Convention) and three lay communicants (in good standing within their churches) from the diocese, elected by Convention for three-year terms. It functions as a committee of advice to the bishop and is called at the bishop's discretion, or it may meet of its own accord. The Standing Committee gives consent for persons to become candidates for Holy Orders, consent for ordinations, and consent to elections of bishops in other dioceses. When there is no bishop, bishop coadjutor, or bishop suffragan, the Standing Committee becomes the ecclesiastical authority of the diocese. The committee meets the second Tuesday of the month.

### The Executive Council (see Canon 5)

There shall be eighteen elected members of the Executive Council to be chosen at the annual convention by a concurrent vote of a majority of each order from the following categories: six members of the clergy, entitled to seats in the Convention, and twelve lay persons, who are confirmed communicants in good standing of Parishes and Missions in union with the Convention. Two members of the clergy and four lay persons shall be elected at each Convention for a term of three years. No member who has served three consecutive years shall be eligible for reelection until the lapse of one year after the expiration of his last period of service. The Executive Council of the Diocese of Dallas has as its purpose the administration of the missionary, educational, and social service work of the diocese. The Bishop is the executive head of this work. The Executive Council carries on the work of the Convention between meetings. The Executive Council submits the Proposed Budget to the Convention. The committee meets the second Tuesday of the month.

# The Trustee for the University of the South (see Canon 23)

There shall be elected by the Diocesan Convention three Trustees of the University of the South, consisting of one clerical and two lay persons. One trustee is to be elected each year for a three-year term. Trustees to the University of the South are elected for a three-year term and may serve for two consecutive terms. A trustee who has served two consecutive terms may not serve again until at least one year after the expiration of the second term. Trustees meet for a mandatory meeting each year in October and an optional meeting each May at Sewanee, TN. The Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing the policies of the university and for the concurrence to the election of the vice-chancellor. Travel costs to attend the meeting(s) are generally the responsibility of the trustee, unless the trustee is unable to pay, and the Diocese may provide assistance. The pattern of election is one year lay, next year lay, and following year clergy.

# Deputies to the Provincial Synod and the General Convention of the Episcopal Church (see Article 11 and Canon 27)

The Annual Convention in the second year preceding a stated meeting of the General Convention shall elect by ballot four (4) Priests or Deacons and four (4) Lay persons to act as Deputies from this Diocese to the General Convention, a concurrent vote of a majority of both orders being necessary to elect. Following the election of the last Deputy chosen, the floor shall be opened for nomination of Alternate Deputies in accordance with the Rules of Procedure and one (1) ballot shall be taken (unless further voting shall be necessary because of a tie) upon those then nominated and those who had been nominated as Deputies (including those who withdrew), and the four (4) in each order receiving the most votes (both orders voting together) shall be declared elected as Alternate Deputies. Deputies and Alternates shall take office immediately upon election and shall hold office until their successors are chosen.

The persons elected as Deputies to General Convention and Alternative Deputies to General Convention, while serving in such capacity, shall also serve as the representatives of this Diocese to the Provincial Synod.